The city Idabel was established in 1902 by the Arkansas and Choctaw Railway. The city was first named Purnell, after Isaac Purnell, a railroad official. When postal officials rejected that designation, the name was changed to Mitchell, honoring another railroad company officer. Postal officials also rejected because another post office of that name existed elsewhere in the territory.
They named the post office Bokhoma [Choctaw for Red River], which opened December 15, 1902. Railroad officials then chose the name Idabel, a compound of the names of Isaac Purnell's two daughters, Ida and Bell.
For its first four years, Idabel local government was the responsibility of the Choctaw tribe for the Indians themselves. The national government was responsible for enforcing the law among non-Choctaws.
In 1906, the citizens elected their first mayor and established a mayor-council form of government. At the time of statehood, November 16, 1907, the town was designated as the county seat of McCurtain County.

what does progress mean to you?

The Idabel Chamber of Commerce and Agriculture wants to hear from you! What areas of the community do you want to see improved? What types of business do you think the city needs?


I'm a paragraph. Click here to add your own text and edit me. It’s easy. Just click “Edit Text” or double click me to add your own content and make changes to the font. 

Read More



FB icon Chamber Green.png
INSTA icon Chamber Green.png
TWIT icon Chamber Green.png
GMB icon Chamber Green.png



Fax 580.286.6708

7 SW Texas Street, Idabel, OK 74745     |     580.286.3305     |     Fax 580.286.6708